Category: Anthropology & Indigenous Peoples

Sort

Showing 21-40 of 415

Indian Days in the Canadian Rockies

By: BARBEAU, Marius

Price: $75.00

Publisher: Toronto, Macmillan Company of Canada: 1923

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: 16193

Condition: Good VG


Description of the Indians of the Canadian Rocky Mountain area by the celebrated Canadian scholar, Marius Barbeau. 207pp, color pl;ates by artist W. Langdon Kihn, endpapr maps. Bright, clean copy. Binding soild - small repair to front hinge [?]. Clean boards no wear to spine. Weight, 670g. Reduced by 25%! View more info

Indian Days on the Western Prairies

By: BARBEAU, Marius

Price: $14.00

Publisher: Ottawa, National Museum of Canada: 1965

Edition: Later Printing

Seller ID: 036853

Condition: VG+


Wonderful description of Native Indian culture on the Western Prairies of North America. Bulletin No.163, Anthropological Series No.46. 1974 [?] printing, stiff illustrated wrappers, 8'x10", 234pp, illustrated, endpaper maps. Near Mint copy; tight, square binding, very clean and bright internally and externally. Fine. Weight, 616g. View more info

Tsimsyan Myths

By: BARBEAU, Marius

Price: $20.00

Publisher: Ottawa, Department of Northern Affairs: 1961

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: 044847

Condition: Near Fine


Myths of one of the principal Indian Nations occupying the Central Coast of British Columbia, the Tsimsyan. National Museum of Canada Bulletin No. 174, Anthropological Series No. 51. 97pp, photo illustrated, color illustrated endpapers. Very bright copy with a tight, square spine and firm binding. Small defect on frontis - a small 1/4" hole, perhaps a printing defect. See scan. Weight, 225g. View more info

Perspectives on Aboriginal Culture: BC Studies, Issue Number 135, Autumn 2002

By: BARMAN, Jean & McDONALD, Robert A. J. - Editors

Price: $20.00

Publisher: Vancouver, University of British Columbia: 2002

Edition: Number 135

Seller ID: 30762

Condition: About Fine


Special issue, Number 135, of BC Studies: The British Columbia Quarterly, on Aboriginal Culture in British Columbia. 194pp, photo illustrated in color and in b&w. Bright, clean copy. Tight, square binding. University Receiving Stamp to top corner of title page, otherwise unmarked. Weight, 350g. View more info

Oilitics in a Changing Society: A Political History of the Fort Jameson Ngoni

By: BARNES, J. A.

Price: $35.00

Publisher: UK, Manchester Univ Press: 1967

Edition: Second Edition

Seller ID: 036994

Condition: Fine


Sociological analysis of political developments over a period of about 150 years, from 1821-1949, among a group of Ngoni now living in Zambia and Malawi. Second edition, of 1949 first, incorporates, 'Seven Types of segmentation'. Institute for Social Research, University of Zambia. 245pp, photo illustrated, tables, folding chart. Bright, clean, unmarked copy. Virtually 'as new' except for slight wear to the foot of the spine on the dustjacket only. Weight, 462g. View more info

Art and Life in Polynesia

By: BARROW, T.

Price: $60.00

Publisher: Wellington, NZ, A. H. & A. Reed: 1972

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: 29422

ISBN: 0589006495

Condition: About Fine


The Art of Polynesia - Tonga, Samoa, Fiji, Marquesas, Society, Australs, Gambier, Cook, Easter, Hawaii, New Zealand, Chatham. 191pp, profusely illustrated in color and in b&w, map, illustrated endpapers. Bright, clean, unmarked interior. Tight, square binding. Unclipped dustjacket is bright, clean and unmarked with just a little edge wear. Heavy book weighing 1.12kg. View more info

Henry Beatus Sr: A Biography

By: BEATUS, Henry; YARBER, Yvonne

Price: $40.00

Publisher: North Vancouver, B. C., Hancock House Pub Ltd: 1980

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: 044819

ISBN: 0888390637

Condition: Near Fine


An Eskimo recounts his life in a small Alaskan village. Juvenile literature. 71 p. : ill. ; 22 x 26 cm. Includes index. Bright, clean, unmarked copy with a tight, sound binding. Scarce. Weight, 240g. View more info

Hawaiian Mythology

By: BECKWITH, Martha W.

Price: $30.00

Publisher: Honolulu, University of Hawaii Press: 1971

Edition: Second Printing

Seller ID: 23062

ISBN: 0870220624

Condition: About Fine


The first scholarly work on Hawaiian Mythology, originally published in 1940. 575pp. Very bright, clean copy. Unmarked. Tight, square binding. Unclipped dustjacket has some top edge wear and a 1.5" tear at head of spine. Otherwise bright and clean. Heavy book weighing just over 1kg. View more info

Under the Ivi Tree: Society and Economic Growth in Rural Fiji

By: BELSHAW, Cyril S.

Price: $12.50

Publisher: Berkeley, University of California Press: 1964

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: 19042

Condition: Fine


Study concerns the differentials of economic growth among the Fijian people. 336pp, photo illustrated. Bright, clean, unmarked copy with a sound binding. No wear to black cloth. Dustjacket [in brodart], is nearly similar with a small area of surface loss where a price label removed. We ship Worldwide, use both Canada Post and the United States Postal Service, and offer postal charges based on our actual costs, without overcharging. This item weighs 740g unpacked. Canadi... View more info

Thirty Indian Legends of Canada

By: BEMISTER, Margaret

Price: $6.50

Publisher: Vancouver, Douglas & MacIntyre: 1993

Edition: Ninth Printing

Seller ID: 046082

ISBN: 0888940254

Condition: As New


Originally published Toronto, Macmillan Co. of Canada, 1912. 153 p. ill. 23 cm. Illus. by Douglas Tait. Bright, unmarked, 'fresh' copy, 'as new'. Weight, 180g. View more info

Patterns of Culture

By: BENEDICT, Ruth

Price: $5.50

Publisher: Sentry Edition 8, Boston (1959):

Seller ID: 2075


With a new preface by Margaret Mead. 23rd printing of Sentry edition. Stiff wrappers, 8vo, 291pp. No spine creases, VG+ View more info

Image for A Cry from the Earth: Music of North American Indians

A Cry from the Earth: Music of North American Indians

By: BIERHORST, John

Price: $9.95

Publisher: Santa Fe, New Mexico, U.S.A., Ancient City Pr: 1992

Edition: Third Printing of New Edition

Seller ID: 048391

ISBN: 094127053X

Condition: As New


An overview of American Indian music and dance which includes a discussion of their instruments, the structure of their music, and the uses of music in Indian life. Originally published: New York : Four Winds Press, 1979. viii, 113 p. : ill. ; 18 x 26 cm. A bright, clean, unmarked copy. Tight, square binding, no spine creases. Appear about '/as new'. Weight, 285g. View more info

Image for The Mythology of Mexico and Central America

The Mythology of Mexico and Central America

By: Bierhorst, jOHN

Price: $12.00

Publisher: New York, William Morrow: 1990

Edition: First Edition, Second Printing

Seller ID: 16371

ISBN: 0688067212

Condition: As New


Discusses the mythology from Indians of various regions of Mexico and Central America, describing origins, comparing the similar tales, and presenting some of the myths themselves. xiv, 239pp, illustrated. Bright, clean & fresh, unmarked interior. Tight, square binding, sound hinges, no wear to the cloth.Unclipped dustjacket is similar. Attractive copy. Unpacked weight, 603g. We ship Worldwide, at cost, using both Canada Post and the United States Postal Service, and off... View more info

We Indians: The Passing of a Great Race

By: BIG CHIEF WHITE HORSE EAGLE & Edgar Von Schmidt-Pauli

Price: $30.00

Publisher: New York, E. P. Dutton & Co.: 1931

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: 15685

Condition: Good +


Recollections of the last of the Great Indian Chiefs - Big Chief White Horse Eagle. Translated by Christopher Turner. 255pp, color frontispiece. Interior is bright. Very minor foxing to endpapers. Binding is tight and sound. No damage to hinges. School award/owner's names on fpde. Minor wear only to brown cloth boards. Yellow ink titles are bright. Solid copy. Weight, 560g. View more info

Daisy Bates in the Desert

By: BLACKBURN, Julia

Price: $7.95

Publisher: New York, Pantheon Books Inc: 1994

Edition: First American Edition, First Printing

Seller ID: 052587

ISBN: 0679420010

Condition: As New


In 1913, at the age of 54, Daisy Bates went to live in the deserts of South Australia. Brilliantly reviewed, astonishingly original, this "eloquent and illuminating portrait of an extraordinary woman" (New York Times Book Review) tells a fascinating, true story in the tradition of Isak Dinesen and Barry Lopez. viii, 232pp. An 'as new' copy - bright, fresh and unmarked in a similar, unclipped dustjacket. We ship Worldwide, use both Canada Post and the United Stat... View more info

During my time : Florence Edenshaw Davidson, a Haida Woman

By: BLACKMAN, Margaret B.

Price: $6.95

Publisher: Seattle, WA, University of Washington Press: 1982

Edition: First U. S. A. Edition

Seller ID: 34730

ISBN: 0295962194

Condition: Good VG


First biography of a Haida woman - Florence Davidson - daughter of noted Haida carver and Chief, Charles Edenshaw. xvii, 172 p. : ill. ; 24 cm. Includes index. Clean, bright interior. Gift inscription to the htp otherwise unmarkrd. Tight, square binding, no spine creases. Some surface rubbing to spine and wrapper and faint corner-tip creases. Weight, 253g. View more info

Kota Mama : retracing the lost trade routes of ancient South American Peoples

By: BLASHFORD-SNELL, John; SNAILHAM, Richard

Price: $12.50

Publisher: UK, Headline Book Publishing: 2000

Edition: First Edition, First Printing

Seller ID: 24114

ISBN: 0747222819

Condition: VG+


An account of an adventure which provided evidence that South Americans could have had trading contacts with Africa 1000 BC, using reed boats to navigate their way across the Atlantic. This is a recreation of that epic journey, uncovering many archaeological sites along the way. xiv, 272 p., [16] p. of plates : ill. (some col.), maps (1 col.), col. ports. ; 24 cm. Bright, clean interior, quite fresh. Unmarked excepting a previous owner's signature to the htp, Tight, squa... View more info

The Etruscans

By: BLOCH, Raymond

Price: $9.95

Publisher: New York, Frederick A. Praeger: 1969

Edition: Fifth Printing of American Edition

Seller ID: 11200

Condition: Near Fine


A volume in the series 'Ancient Peoples and Places'. Story of one of the 'mystery peoples' of the ancient world. 260pp, 79 photographs, 38 line drawings, 3 maps. Bright, clean copy with a very sound binding. unmarked. Dustjacket has faded spine and a little wear at head of spine and to top edge. View more info

The Voice of the Natives: The Canadian North and Alaska

By: BLOHM, Hans-Ludwig

Price: $49.50

Publisher: Penumbra Press: 2001

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: 16766

ISBN: 1-894131-13-4

Condition: As New


A splendid testament to the North, from Canada's Eastern Arctic to Alaska - the magnificence of the land and the resoluteness of its people. 200pp, profusely photo illustrated. Bright, fresh copy, 'as new'. Weight, 1.32kg View more info

The Beaver: Magazine of the North; Summer, 1963

By: BOLUS, Malvina - Editor

Price: $8.50

Publisher: Winnipeg, Hudson's Bay Co.: 1963

Edition: Outfit 294

Seller ID: 050717

Condition: About Fine


Single issue of the Hudson's Bay Co. magazine, 'The Beaver'. This issue features - A Living Haida Craft [Totems]; Mr. Back of the Expedition; Indian Days at Banff; Mariners of Sloop Cove - and more. Cover photo by Nicholas Morant. 58pp, illustrated. Bright, clean interior. Sound, stapled binding. Bright, unmarked front and rear wrappers. We use both the Canadian Post Office and the United States Postal Service and offer very competitive postal charges. This item weighs ... View more info